January 31, 2023
Ithaca, NY | 24°F


Party Remix, Party V.A.U.L.T. win elections

Party Remix will be the Student Government Association (SGA) executive board for the 2007–08 academic year, according to election results released yesterday by junior Josh Keniston, co-chair of the elections committee.

The party members, junior Aaron Bloom, president; sophomore Caitlin Baran, vice president of academics; junior Monica Marcenko, vice president of business and finance; sophomore Cornell Woodson, vice president of campus affairs; and sophomore Tatiana Sy, vice president of communication, won the election with 980 votes.

Party Remix ran uncontested after Party Unity dropped out of the election April 3 amid allegations the group plagiarized its opponent’s platform.

This year’s elections attracted 1,143 voters, a 45 percent decrease from last year’s 2,080 votes. Keniston said a lack of competition in the executive board election discouraged many students from completing online ballots.

Bloom said one of his first projects will be to make the book-buying experience more appealing to students.

Some of the plans Bloom said he hopes to have in place for the fall include a larger selection of used books and introducing multimedia book options.

“I’ve talked with the new Bookstore manager [Rick Watson], and he is excited about promoting new ideas,” he said.

Bloom will also push for a sustainable shuttle on campus and student input during summer meetings of the Facebook Task Force, a group created in February to assess social networking education and the use of Facebook by college administrators.

Party V.A.U.L.T. won the 2008 senior class council elections with 216 votes. Members include Tiffany Casale, president; Ben Stockwell, vice president; Brendan Long, treasurer; and Jeffrey Penoyer, secretary. The group defeated its opponent, Party H.A.R.T.I.E., by 33 votes.

Casale said the party’s first priority is compiling a list of potential Commencement speakers. The party plans to send a survey to all senior class members during the summer.

Sophomores Alexa Besgen, Ara Eckel, Sarah Garcia and Ellen Gagne will represent the Class of 2009, and freshmen Hayley Henderson, Sarah Cox, Kyle Kelley and Lindsey Hollenbaigh will represent the Class of 2010.

Freshman Luke Elmers won in an uncontested race for the Roy H. Park School of Communications senator.

Keniston said results for the Class of 2008 senators and the five remaining school senators have not been decided. He said the committee must count write-in votes for each election and contact the winners to see if they will accept the position before they are announced.