November 26, 2022
Ithaca, NY | 37°F


Board grants tenure

The Ithaca College board of trustees granted tenure and promotion to 16 faculty, tenure to one professor and emeritus status to another professor at their February meeting.

The following 16 assistant professors were granted tenure and promoted to associate professor:

Luanne Andersson, Department of Speech Language Pathology and Audiology

David Brown, Department of Mathematics

Beth Ellen Clark Joseph, Department of Physics

Edward Cluett, Department of Biology

Vincent DeTuri, Department of Chemistry

Mary Ann Erickson, Department of Gerontology

Mike Haaf, Department of Chemistry

Jason Hamilton, Department of Biology

Cynthia Henderson, Department of Theatre Arts

Peter Johanns, Department of Television and Radio

Tom Kerr, Department of Writing

Deborah King, Department of Exercise and Sport Sciences

Patrick Meister, Department of Economics

Judith Pena-Shaff, Department of Psychology

Leigh Ann Vaughn, Department of Psychology

Baruch Whitehead, Department of Music Education

Srijana Bajracharya, associate professor in the Department of Health Promotion and Physical Education, was awarded tenure.

The board granted emeritus status to Charles Spencer, who retired in 2003 after a 30-year career in the Department of Physics, which included seven years as chair. He served on the Faculty Council and the Tenure and Promotion Committee.

The Ithacan can be reached at or via Twitter: @IthacanOnline