March 30, 2023
Ithaca, NY | 33°F


Search begins for new music school dean

Kathleen Rountree, provost and vice president of academic affairs, appointed seven faculty members, one staff member and one administrator to the School of Music’s Dean Search Committee yesterday.

Steve Mauk, professor of music performance and chair of the committee, said members were selected through a nomination process.

Other committee members include Shelley Semmler, vice president of institutional advancement; Erik Kibelsbeck, coordinator of facilities and publicity for the music department; Baruch Whitehead, associate professor of music education; Susan Waterbury, associate professor of music performance; Jennifer Hayghe, assistant professor of music performance; Patrice Pastore, professor of music performance; and Craig Cummings, associate professor of music theory, history and composition.

One student representative from the music school has yet to be selected for the committee, Rountree said.

Rountree said the committee hopes to hire a dean for the start of the 2008–09 year.

Arthur Ostrander, dean of the music school, will retire in May 2009 after a sabbatical year.