Advertisement
  •  

Accuracy • Independence • Integrity

September 20, 2017   |   Ithaca, NY

Opinion

Open Letter: Faculty and staff support students postelection

To our students,

We, the undersigned, want to express our concern and support for Ithaca College students who are feeling especially vulnerable after the presidential election and subsequent hate crimes across the nation. We recognize that injustices such as racism, Islamophobia, homophobia, transphobia, anti-immigration, anti-Semitism, sexism, sexual assault and ableism have been a painful reality for members in our community long before this election. By signing this letter, we express our support to those at the margins that were, are, and (sadly) will continue to be impacted by the outcome of this election. Please do not hesitate to email us, call us on the phone, come by our offices, or invite us to join you and others for informal conversation. While we may be unable to provide answers and explanations to all of your questions, we can provide supportive, listening ears to your concerns and ideas. Moreover, we will gladly walk with you to your classes or car, keep you company (e.g, in public spaces such as cafeterias), help you locate community resources, relay your needs to the institution, speak in your dorm or classroom … in other words, support you with what you are needing.

Signatures remain open. If you are a member of faculty or staff and do not have access to the link, please email rwagner@ithaca.edu.

Rachel Wagner, Dept. of Philosophy & Religion, 111 Rothschild, rwagner@ithaca.edu
Diane Birr, School of Music;
Jacob White, Smiddy 422, jrwhite@ithaca.edu;
David Turkon, Anthropology;
Bruce Henderson, Communication Studies;
Paul R Geisler, Athletic Training Education (DESS), Hill 71G;
Susan Swensen Witherup;
Edd Schneider, eschneider@ithaca.edu;
Beth Ellen Clark Joseph, Dept. of Physics & Astronomy;
Gordon Rowland, Park 253, rowland@ithaca.edu;
Jennifer Tennant, Economics, 419 Muller, jtennant@ithaca.edu;
Jeff Claus;
Kati Lustyik, Dept of MASS;
Mary Ann Erickson, Gerontology, Job 215;
Cathy Michael, Library, cmichael@ithaca.edu;
Michael Haaf, Chemistry;
Lisabeth Chabot, Library;
Luke Keller, Dept. of Physics & Astronomy;
Christopher Matusiak, Dept. of English, 326 Muller, cmatusiak@ithaca.edu;
Terri Beth Ledbetter, Library;
Laura Kuo, Library;
Terri Ann Coronel, Library;
Stephen Tropiano, stropiano@ithaca.edu;
Maki Inada, Biology;
Leigh Ann Vaughn, Psychology, 115a Williams Hall;
Julie Blumberg, Jblumberg@ithaca.edu;
Aaron Weinberg, Dept. of Mathematics, 311c Williams Hall;
Maria DiFrancesco, mdifrancesco@ithaca.edu, Muller 411;
Brooks Miner, Biology, CNS 166, bminer@ithaca.edu;
Stephanie Salcedo, ssalcedo@ithaca.edu;
Steve Gordon, sgordon@ithaca.edu;
Abby Juda, Library;
Osman Yurekli, Dept. of Mathematics, Williams 402B;
Paula Turkon, pturkon@ithaca.edu;
Janet Galvan, galvanj@ithaca.edu;
Vince DeTuri, ICC and Chemistry, Rothschild 125;
Elizabeth Bergman, Gerontology, Job 216;
Robyn Wishna, Photography, rwishna@ithaca.edu;
Kate Payne, Library;
Rebecca Lesses, Jewish Studies, Muller 413, rlesses@ithaca.edu;
Fred A. Wilcox, retired, Writing Dept.;
Kathleen Mulligan, kmulligan@ithaca.edu;
Karin Wikoff, Electronic &Technical Services Librarian, Gannett 204, kwikoff@ithaca.edu;
Judith Andrew, Library;
Sergio Pedro, spedro@ithaca.edu;
Wendy Dann, Theatre Arts, Dillingham 035;
Amy Rominger, Smiddy 239, arominger@ithaca.edu;
Jessica L. Dunning-Lozano, jdunninglozano@ithaca.edu;
Molly DeTuri, Chemistry CNS 360;
Sarah Shank, Library, sshank@ithaca.edu;
Leann Kanda, Biology, CNS 159, lkanda@ithaca.edu;
Tom Swensen, ESS, CHS 313, tswensen@ithaca.edu;
David Salomon, dsalomon@ithaca.edu;
Luca Maurer, LGBT Center@ithaca.edu;
Jennifer Spitzer, jspitzer@ithaca.edu;
Hilary Greenberger, Physical Therapy, CHS 418, greenber@ithaca.edu;
Ian Woods, Dept. of Biology CNS 160;
Josh Moyer, Dept. of Biology Williams 119H;
Linda Hanrahan, Dept. of Education;
Jason Freitag, History, jfreitag@ithaca.edu;
Pamela Sertzen, CSCRE;
Enrique Gonzalez Conty, Modern Languages, Mueller 416, egonzalezconty@ithaca.edu;
Lisa Farman, Strategic Communication, lfarman@ithaca.edu;
David Gondek, Biology, CNS 164, dgondek@ithaca.edu;
Anne Stork, astork@ithaca.edu;
Deborah Rifkin, School of Music, Whalen 3211;
Rebecca Brenner, ENVS, Rothschild 106, rbrenner@ithaca.edu;
Paula Ioanide, CSCRE, Egbert Hall 339, pioanide@ithaca.edu;
Elisabeth Nonas, enonas@ithaca.edu;
Carla Stetson, Art Dept., cstetson@ithaca.edu;
Jaime Warburton, Writing, jwarburton@ithaca.edu;
John Scott, Office 363 Park School of Communications jdscott@ithaca.edu;
Katherine Cohen-Filipic, Sociology, Mueller 113, kcohenfilipic@ithaca.edu;
Claire Gleitman, Dept. of English, gleitman@ithaca.edu;
Susan Adams Delaney, sadamsdelaney@ithaca.edu (Smiddy 402);
Anna Larsen, alarsen@ithaca.edu;
Linda Heyne, Recreation and Leisure Studies, Smiddy 313, lheyne@ithaca.edu;
Kayla Wheeler, Dept. of Philosophy & Religion, 143 Rothschild Place, kwheeler1@ithaca.edu;
Christine Haase, Dept. of Philosophy & Religion, Rothschild 140, haase@ithaca.edu;
Thomas Pfaff, Honors Program Director, Muller 218;
Matt Thomas, Dept. of Mathematics, Williams 311A;
Craig Duncan, Dept. of Philosophy & Religion Dept., 144 Rothschild;
Jason Hamilton, Environmental Studies, CNS 252, jhamilton@ithaca.edu;
Brian Karafin, Rothschild Place 109, karafin@ithaca.edu;
Nia Michelle Nunn, nmakepeace@ithaca.edu;
Wade Pickren, wpickren@ithaca.edu;
John Hopple, jhopple@ithaca.edu;
Dante Dauksz, Dept. of Philosophy and Religion, ddauksz@ithaca.edu;
Rick Kaufman, Dept. of Philosophy & Religion;
Kelley Sullivan, Physics and Astronomy, CNS 260;
Christine Pogorzala, pogorzal@ithaca.edu, Gerontology, Job 218;
Maya R. Patel, Biology, CNS 213A, mpatel@ithaca.edu;
Michael Twomey, English, Muller 329, twomey@ithaca.edu;
Laurie Arliss, Communication Studies;
John Henderson, Library;
Deborah Rifkin, School of Music, Whalen 3211;
Patricia Rodriguez, 312 Muller;
John Henderson, Library;
Lauren O’Connell;
Cynthia A. Hogan, Dept. of Philosophy and Religion, Rothschild 110, chogan@ithaca.edu;
Heidi Hopkins, Biology, CNS254, hhopkins@ithaca.edu;
Jack Wang, Writing, Smiddy 419;
Gary Wells, Art History;
Sara Haefeli, School of Music, Whalen 2321;
Barbara Adams, 427 Smiddy, adams@ithaca.edu;
Shaianne Osterreich, Muller 420, sosterreich@ithaca.edu;
Debbi DeWeese, ddeweese@ithaca.edu;
Sharon Stansfield, Computer Science Dept, Williams 401E;
Caroline Manring , carolinemanring@gmail.com, 406 Smiddy, Writing Dept.;
Paul Dickson, Computer Science, Williams 401a, pdickson@ithaca.edu;
Douglas Turnbull, dturnbull@ithaca.edu;
Louise Cannon, Writing, 406 Smiddy, lcannon@ithaca.edu;
Toby Dragon, Computer Science Dept., 401B Williams Hall, tdragon@ithaca.edu;
Zenon Wasyliw, History Dept.;
Michael Haaf, Chemistry;
Linda Godfrey, Writing Dept.;
Joan Marcus, Dept. of Writing, 408 Smiddy;
Rebecca Brady, Biology, CNS 157, rbrady@ithaca.edu;
Cory Young, youngc@ithaca.edu;
Katie Marks, Writing, Smiddy 410;
Jessye Cohen-Filipic, Psychology, Williams 119D, jcohenfilipic@ithaca.edu;
Roy Westwater, Computer Science Dept., 321C, rwestwater@ithaca.edu;
Megan D. Graham, mdgraham@ithaca.edu;
Barbara Ganzel , Job Hall 214, bganzel@ithaca.edu;
Dr. Mary Lourdes Silva, msilva@ithaca.edu;
Nancy Menning, Dept. of Philosophy and Religion, Rothschild Place 139, nmenning@ithaca.edu;
Jerry Mirskin, Writing, Smiddy 420, mirskin@ithaca.edu;
Emilie Wiesner, ewiesner@ithaca.edu;
Rachel Kaufman, Writing Dept., Smiddy 406, rkaufman@ithaca.edu;
Alicia Swords, aswords@ithaca;
Sae-Mi Lee, Exercise Science Dept., Hill Center G40, slee5@ithaca.edu;
John Barr, Computer Science, 321B Williams, barr@ithaca.edu;
Gladys M. Varona-Lacey, DMLL;
Cyndy Scheibe, Dept. of Psychology, 115B Williams Hall, scheibe@ithaca.edu;
Peter Martin, Education Dept., Phillips Hall 194C, pmartin@ithaca.edu;
Jennifer Germann, Art History, G-113, jgermann@ithaca.edu;
Jeane Copenhaver-Johnson, 194F Phillips Hall, jcopenhaverjohnson@ithaca.edu;
Jennifer Jolly, Art History, Gannett 111;
Marella Feltrin-Morris, Modern Languages and Literatures, Muller 409;
Ellie Fulmer, Education Dept., efulmer@ithaca.edu;
Sarah Grunberg, Sociology, Muller 111, sgrunbe1@ithaca.edu;
Colin Stewart, Theatre Arts, Dillingham 116B, cstewart@ithaca.edu;
Steve TenEyck, Theatre Arts, Dillingham 210, steneyck@ithaca.edu;
Chip Gagnon, Dept. of Politics, vgagnon@ithaca.edu;
Joslyn Brenton, Sociology 112 Muller Faculty Center;
Jeffery Meyer (in absentia);
Marlene Barken, Legal Studies, mbarken@ithaca.edu;
Christine Havens Hafer, Education Dept., chavenshafer@ithaca.edu;
Kelly Dietz, Muller 323, kdietz@ithaca.edu;
Teresa Michel, tmichel@ithaca.edu;
Derek Adams, Muller 304, dadams@ithaca.edu;
Dyani Taff, Writing, dtaff@ithaca.edu;
Carla Golden, Women’s and Gender Studies, Williams 111;
Alicia Rebecca Myers, Writing, Smiddy 428, amyers@ithaca.edu;
Mary Bentley, Hill G48;
Carlos Figueroa, Politics, 319 Muller, cfigueroa@ithaca.edu;
Ruth Barber, Theatre Arts, 214 Dillingham Center, rbarber@ithaca.edu;
Mark Baustian, Biology, mbaustian@ithaca.edu;
Jonathan Ablard, jablard@ithaca.edu;
Harriet Malinowitz, Writing, Smiddy 429, hmalinowitz@ithaca.edu;
Ron Gilmour, Library, rgilmour; Elizabeth Bishop, Education, ebishop1@ithaca.edu, Muller 119;
Gina Keicher, Smiddy 418, Writing Dept.;
Judith Pena-Shaff, Psychology;
Cristina Gomez, Mathematics Williams 311D;
Matthew Price, mprice@ithaca.edu;
Todd Schack, Journalism, tschack@ithaca.edu;
Angela Rudert, arudert; Annette Levine, 331 Muller, alevine@ithaca.edu;
Candace Edwards, Office of Admission, cedward1@ithaca.edu;
Jake Brenner, jbrenner@ithaca.edu, CNS 258;
Jan Monroe, Recreation & Leisure Studies, Smiddy 321;
Felice Russell, Education Dept., frussell@ithaca.edu;
Kacey Wochna, kwochna@ithaca.edu;
Mary Pitti , mpitti@ithaca.edu;
Jonathan Peeters, Dept. of Philosophy and Religion, Rothschild Pl. 138, jpeeters@ithaca.edu;
Marty Alderman, Physics & Astronomy, malderman@ithaca.edu;
Laura Campbell Carapella , lcampbell@ithaca.edu;
Jennifer Wofford, Extended Studies;
Amy Frith, afrith@ithaca.edu;
Denise Nuttall, Anthropology, dnuttall;
Abraham Mulugetta, Finance and International Business;
Shoshe Cole, Physics and Astronomy, scole@ithaca.edu;
Michael Smith, History/ENVS, 320 Muller, mismith@ithaca.edu;
Jamie Rombach, Mathematics, Williams 321-D, jrombach@ithaca.edu;
Pamela Pospisil, Mathematics, ppospisil@ithaca.edu, Williams 217;
Paula Murray Cole, Theatre Arts, pcole@ithaca.edu;
Ann Byrne 213 Job Hall